Performance Calendar

2019–20 Season

September 2019

Natasha ParemskiPiano
Alfredo RodriguezPiano

Natasha Paremski and Alfredo Rodriguez

Fri Sep 27 | 7:30pm

Herbst Theatre

October 2019

Manuel BarruecoGuitar

Manuel Barrueco

Sun Oct 13 | 7pm

Herbst Theatre

Z.E.N. Trio

Z.E.N. Trio

Fri Oct 18 | 7:30pm

Herbst Theatre

Alexander String Quartet
Robert GreenbergHost · Lecturer

Alexander String Quartet with Robert Greenberg

Beethoven Quartets

7 Saturdays | 10am
Oct 19, Nov 9, Jan 25, Feb 22 & 29, Mar 21 and May 16

Herbst Theatre

March 21st and May 16 Performances Postponed

Calidore String Quartet

Calidore String Quartet

Mon Oct 21 | 7:30pm

Herbst Theatre

Christian GerhaherBaritone
Gerold HuberPiano

Christian Gerhaher

Tue Oct 22 | 7:30pm

Herbst Theatre

Jason VieauxGuitar

Jason Vieaux

Sat Oct 26 | 7:30pm

Herbst Theatre

Richard GoodePiano

Richard Goode

40th Season Gala Performance

Tue Oct 29 | 7:00pm

Herbst Theatre

November 2019

Bomsori KimViolin
Juho PohjonenPiano

Bomsori Kim

Annual Gift Concert

Wed Nov 6 | 7:30pm

Herbst Theatre

Alexander String Quartet
Robert GreenbergHost · Lecturer

Alexander String Quartet with Robert Greenberg

Beethoven Quartets

7 Saturdays | 10am
Oct 19, Nov 9, Jan 25, Feb 22 & 29, Mar 21 and May 16

Herbst Theatre

March 21st and May 16 Performances Postponed

Los Angeles Guitar Quartet

Los Angeles Guitar Quartet

Sat Nov 23 | 7:30pm

Herbst Theatre

December 2019

Brentano String Quartet
Dawn UpshawSoprano

Brentano String Quartet & Dawn Upshaw

Wed Dec 4 | 7:30pm

Herbst Theatre

Xuefei YangGuitar

Xuefei Yang

Sat Dec 7 | 7:30pm

St. Mark’s Lutheran Church

Jamie BartonMezzo-Soprano
Kathleen KellyPiano

Jamie Barton

Wed Dec 11 | 7:30pm

Herbst Theatre

January 2020

Edward SimonPiano

Edward Simon

KDFC Salon Series

Wed Jan 15 | 6:30pm

Education Studio at the
War Memorial Veterans Building

Mahan EsfahaniHarpsichord
Stefan JackiwViolin

Mahan Esfahani & Stefan Jackiw

Thu Jan 23 | 7:30pm

Herbst Theatre

Jennifer KohViolin
Vijay IyerPiano
Tyshawn SoreyPercussion

Jennifer Koh, Vijay Iyer & Tyshawn Sorey

Limitless

Fri Jan 24 | 7:30pm

Herbst Theatre

Alexander String Quartet
Robert GreenbergHost · Lecturer

Alexander String Quartet with Robert Greenberg

Beethoven Quartets

7 Saturdays | 10am
Oct 19, Nov 9, Jan 25, Feb 22 & 29, Mar 21 and May 16

Herbst Theatre

March 21st and May 16 Performances Postponed

Theo BleckmannVocalist
Dan TepferPiano
Telegraph Quartet

Theo Bleckmann & Telegraph Quartet

Sat Jan 25 | 7:30pm

Herbst Theatre

Patricia KopatchinskajaViolin
Jay CampbellCello

Patrica Kopatchinskaja & Jay Campbell

Sun Jan 26 | 5pm

Herbst Theatre

February 2020

Garrick OhlssonPiano

Garrick Ohlsson

Brahms II

Tue Feb 4 | 7:30pm
Tue Mar 31 |  7:30pm

Herbst Theatre

March 31st Performance Postponed

Edward SimonPiano
Hrabba AtladottirViolin
Eric GaenslenCello

Edward Simon, Hrabba Atladottir and Eric Gaenslen

KDFC Salon Series

Wed Feb 5 | 6:30pm

Education Studio at the
War Memorial Veterans Building

Dashon BurtonBass-Baritone
Robert GreenbergHost · Lecturer
Daniel CromeenesPiano

Dashon Burton

Words & Music

Sat Feb 8 | 10am

Herbst Theatre

Isabelle FaustViolin
Alexander MelnikovPiano
Jean-Guihen QueyrasCello

Isabelle Faust, Alexander Melnikov & Jean-Guihen Queyras

Sat Feb 8 | 7:30pm

Herbst Theatre

Paul Taylor Dance Company

Paul Taylor Dance Company

Wed–Sat Feb 19–22 | 7:30pm
Sun Feb 23 |  2pm

The Blue Shield of California Theater at YBCA

Alexander String Quartet
Robert GreenbergHost · Lecturer

Alexander String Quartet with Robert Greenberg

Beethoven Quartets

7 Saturdays | 10am
Oct 19, Nov 9, Jan 25, Feb 22 & 29, Mar 21 and May 16

Herbst Theatre

March 21st and May 16 Performances Postponed

Paul Taylor Dance Company

Paul Taylor Dance Company

Family Matinee

Sat Feb 22 | 2pm

The Blue Shield of California Theater at YBCA

Edward SimonPiano

Edward Simon

KDFC Salon Series

Wed Feb 26 | 6:30pm

Education Studio at the
War Memorial Veterans Building

Wendy Whelan
Maya BeiserCello
Lucinda ChildsChoreographer
David LangWords and Music

Wendy Whelan & Maya Beiser

The Day

Thu Feb 27 | 7:30pm
Fri Feb 28 |  7:30pm

Herbst Theatre

March 2020

Alexander String Quartet
Bill KanengiserGuitar

Alexander String Quartet & Bill Kanengiser

Sat Mar 7 | 7:30pm

Herbst Theatre

Postponed

Pavel Haas Quartet
Boris GiltburgPiano

Pavel Haas Quartet & Boris Giltburg

Tue Mar 10 | 7:30pm

Herbst Theatre

Canceled

Alexander String Quartet
Robert GreenbergHost · Lecturer

Alexander String Quartet with Robert Greenberg

Beethoven Quartets

7 Saturdays | 10am
Oct 19, Nov 9, Jan 25, Feb 22 & 29, Mar 21 and May 16

Herbst Theatre

March 21st and May 16 Performances Postponed

David RussellGuitar

David Russell

Sat Mar 21 | 7:30pm

Herbst Theatre

Postponed

Sir András SchiffPiano

Sir András Schiff

Thu Mar 26 | 7:30pm

Herbst Theatre

Postponed

Tabea ZimmermannViola
Javier PerianesPiano

Tabea Zimmermann & Javier Perianes

Fri Mar 27 | 7:30pm

Herbst Theatre

Canceled

Jerusalem Quartet

Jerusalem Quartet

Sat Mar 28 | 7:30pm

Herbst Theatre

Postponed

Garrick OhlssonPiano

Garrick Ohlsson

Brahms II

Tue Feb 4 | 7:30pm
Tue Mar 31 |  7:30pm

Herbst Theatre

March 31st Performance Postponed

April 2020

Edward SimonPiano
Marcos GranadosFlute

Edward Simon

KDFC Salon Series

Wed Apr 15 | 6:30pm

Education Studio at the
War Memorial Veterans Building

Canceled

Marc-André HamelinPiano

Marc-André Hamelin

Thu Apr 23 | 7:30pm

Herbst Theatre

Postponed

40th Anniversary Family Day of Performance

40th Anniversary Family Day of Performance

Sun Apr 26 | 1–5pm

War Memorial Building
San Francisco

Postponed

40th Anniversary Concert

40th Anniversary Concert

Sun Apr 26 | 7pm

Herbst Theatre

Postponed

Mark PadmoreTenor
Marc-André HamelinPiano

Mark Padmore & Marc-André Hamelin

Mon Apr 27 | 7:30pm

Herbst Theatre

Canceled

Mark PadmoreTenor

Mark Padmore & Marc-André Hamelin

Wed Apr 29 | 7:30pm

Herbst Theatre

Postponed

May 2020

Benjamin ApplBaritone
James BaillieuPiano

Benjamin Appl

Wed May 6 | 7:30pm

Herbst Theatre

Postponed

Alexander String Quartet
Robert GreenbergHost · Lecturer

Alexander String Quartet with Robert Greenberg

Beethoven Quartets

7 Saturdays | 10am
Oct 19, Nov 9, Jan 25, Feb 22 & 29, Mar 21 and May 16

Herbst Theatre

March 21st and May 16 Performances Postponed

2020–21 Season

October 2020

Lawrence BrownleeTenor

Lawrence Brownlee

Fri Oct 2 | 7pm

Herbst Theatre

November 2020

Danish String Quartet

Danish String Quartet

Tue Nov 10 | 7:30pm

Herbst Theatre

Jennifer KohViolin
Timo AndresPiano
Jay CampbellCello

Jennifer Koh, Timo Andres and Jay Campbell

Tue Nov 17 | 7:30pm

Herbst Theatre

Thibault CauvinGuitar

Thibault Cauvin

Sat Nov 21 | 7:30pm

St. Mark’s Lutheran Church

December 2020

Kazuhito YamashitaGuitar

Kazuhito Yamashita

Sat Dec 5 | 7:30pm

St. Mark’s Lutheran Church

Robert GreenbergHost · Lecturer

Robert Greenberg

Beethoven Lecture

Sat Dec 12 | 10am

Herbst Theatre

Alexander String Quartet
Robert GreenbergHost · Lecturer

Beethoven

Beethoven Marathon

Sat Dec 12 | 2pm & 7:30pm

Herbst Theatre

January 2021

Doric String Quartet

Doric String Quartet

Tue Jan 19 | 7:30pm

Herbst Theatre

Timo AndresPiano

Timo Andres

Fri Jan 19 | 7:30pm

Herbst Theatre

Alexander String Quartet
Robert GreenbergHost · Lecturer

Alexander String Quartet with Robert Greenberg

The Art of the Quintet

5 Saturdays | 10am
Jan 30, Feb 13 & 27, Apr 10 and May 1

Herbst Theatre

Sérgio and Odair AssadGuitars

Sérgio and Odair Assad

Sat Jan 30 | 7:30pm

Herbst Theatre

February 2021

MidoriViolin

Midori

Thu Feb 4 | 7:30pm

Herbst Theatre

David GreilsammerPiano

David Greilsammer

Sun Feb 7 | 5pm

Herbst Theatre

Alexander String Quartet
Robert GreenbergHost · Lecturer

Alexander String Quartet with Robert Greenberg

The Art of the Quintet

5 Saturdays | 10am
Jan 30, Feb 13 & 27, Apr 10 and May 1

Herbst Theatre

Angelika KirchschlagerMezzo-Soprano
Julius Drakepiano

Angelika Kirchschlager and Julius Drake

Sat Feb 20 | 7:30pm

Herbst Theatre

Beatrice RanaPiano
Renaud CapuçonViolin

Beatrice Rana and Renaud Capuçon

Thu Feb 25 | 7:30pm

Herbst Theatre

Alexander String Quartet
Robert GreenbergHost · Lecturer

Alexander String Quartet with Robert Greenberg

The Art of the Quintet

5 Saturdays | 10am
Jan 30, Feb 13 & 27, Apr 10 and May 1

Herbst Theatre

March 2021

Jonathan BissPiano

Jonathan Biss

Fri Mar 5 | 7:30pm

Herbst Theatre

Trio Mediaeval

Trio Mediaeval

Sat Mar 6 | 7:30pm

Herbst Theatre

Nicola Benedetti/Leonard Elschenbroich/Alexei Grynyuk Trio

Nicola Benedetti, Leonard Elschenbroich and Alexei Grynuyuk

Wed Mar 10 | 7:30pm

Herbst Theatre

Modigliani Quartet

Modigliani Quartet

Thu Mar 18 | 7:30pm

Herbst Theatre

Laura SnowdenGuitar

Laura Snowden

Sat Mar 20 | 7:30pm

St. Mark’s Lutheran Church

April 2021

The RomerosGuitar
Isabel LeonardMezzo-Soprano

The Romeros

60th Anniversary Tour

Thu Apr 8 | 7:30pm

Herbst Theatre

Alexander String Quartet
Robert GreenbergHost · Lecturer

Alexander String Quartet with Robert Greenberg

The Art of the Quintet

5 Saturdays | 10am
Jan 30, Feb 13 & 27, Apr 10 and May 1

Herbst Theatre

Natasha ParemskiPiano

Natasha Paremski

Sat Apr 10 | 7:30pm

Herbst Theatre

Sean JonesTrumpet

Sean Jones

Fri Apr 16 | 7:30pm

Herbst Theatre

Ukulele Orchestra of Great Britain

Ukulele Orchestra of Great Britain

Sat Apr 17 | 7:30pm

Herbst Theatre

Aaron DiehlPiano

Aaron Diehl

Wed Apr 21 | 7:30pm

Herbst Theatre

Dreamers’ Circus

Dreamers’ Circus

Fri Apr 23 | 7:30pm

Herbst Theatre

Anthony Roth CostanzoCountertenor
Attacca Quartet
Timo AndresComposer/Piano

Anthony Roth Costanzo with Attacca Quartet and Timo Andres

Thu Apr 29 | 7:30pm

Herbst Theatre

May 2021

Alexander String Quartet
Robert GreenbergHost · Lecturer

Alexander String Quartet with Robert Greenberg

The Art of the Quintet

5 Saturdays | 10am
Jan 30, Feb 13 & 27, Apr 10 and May 1

Herbst Theatre

Chiaroscuro Quartet

Chiaroscuro Quartet

Sat May 1 | 7:30pm

Herbst Theatre

Golda SchultzSoprano
Jonathan WarePiano

Golda Schultz

Tue May 4 | 7:30pm

Herbst Theatre