Z.E.N. Trio

Z.E.N. Trio

Zhang Zuo, piano
Esther Yoo, violin
Narek Hakhnazaryan, cello

Friday, October 18, 2019 | 7:30pm

Herbst TheatreVenue Information
San Francisco



SCHUBERT: Notturno in E-flat Major, Op. 148, D897
BRAHMS: Piano Trio No. 1 in B Major, Op.8
SHOSTAKOVICH: Piano Trio No. 2 in E minor, Op.67



Performance Sponsors

Christian Jessen, Individual Sponsor

About This Performance

Welcome the Z.E.N. Trio, which captured the UK’s attention in its electrifying debut as BBC New Generation Artists. “…each of the three is a bold, imaginative and inspiring performer: never eclipsing their colleagues but each frequently, at points throughout the programme, dazzling in their own right.” (Cambridge Independent)

Performer Biography

The Z.E.N. Trio—pianist Zhang Zuo, violinist Esther Yoo and cellist Narek Hakhnazaryan—met on the BBC New Generation Artists’ scheme in 2015 and have since performed concerts together for BBC radio as well as across the UK and elsewhere in Europe. While the trio’s name, “Z.E.N.” is an acronym for the three artists’ initials, it also represents the philosophy with which they approach chamber music making—the forgoing of the self for total togetherness.

Browse Series

Please select the series you wish to browse: