Telegraph Quartet

Telegraph Quartet

2016 Naumburg Competition Winner

Eric Chin, violin
Joseph Maile, violin
Pei-Ling Lin, viola
Jeremiah Shaw, cello

Tuesday, January 31, 2017 | 7:30pm

Herbst TheatreVenue Information




Kirchner String Quartet No. 1 replaces the originally announced Berg String Quartet, Opus 3.

WEBERN: Five Movements for Strings, Opus 5
LEON KIRCHNER: String Quartet No. 1
SCHUBERT: String Quartet in D minor, D. 810 “Death and the Maiden”


BRITTEN: Waltz from Three Divertimenti

Performance Sponsors

The presentation of the Naumburg Competition winner is sponsored with generous support from George and Marie Hecksher and Roger and Satomi Miles.

About This Performance

The Naumburg Awards were conceived in 1925 by Walter Wehle Naumburg, a New York banker and life-long music lover born in 1867. Believing that young musicians needed New York reviews to launch their careers, he sponsored a series of auditions for young pianists and violinists in order to choose three who showed the most promise of benefiting from a recital in New York’s Town Hall. The Walter W. Naumburg Foundation was incorporated in 1926, its stated purpose being “to give public hearings for deserving music students.”

The first ever Naumburg competitions were for pianists and string players; singers were added in 1928. In 1965 an additional competition for chamber groups was begun, which has fostered a distinguished array of ensembles, including the Emerson, Muir and Ying String Quartets and the Peabody and Eroica Trios.

First-prize Naumburg winners receive $15,000 for career promotion, two recitals in Alice Tully Hall in New York’s Lincoln Center, a recording with Musical Heritage Records, and opportunities for residencies as well as other recitals and orchestral appearances.

San Francisco Performances is proud to be associated with the Naumburg Foundation and to present its winners each season in this special concert. The tradition began in 1998, thanks to the generous support of the Chiu family and continues today with sponsorship by George and Marie Hecksher and Roger and Satomi Miles.

Artists presented to date are: Axel Strauss, violin (1998); Stephen Salters, baritone (1999); Steven Osborne, piano (2000); Liwei Qin, cello (2001); Gilles Vonsattel, piano (2002); Frank Huang, violin (2003); Clancy Newman, cello (2004); Sari Gruber, soprano (2005); David Aaron Carpenter, viola (2006); David Requiro, cello (2008); Trio Cavatina (2009); Soyeon Lee, piano (2011); Tessa Lark, violin (2013); Julia Bullock, soprano (2015); and Lev Sivkov, cello (2016).

Performer Biographies

The Telegraph Quartet recently won the 2016 Naumburg Chamber Music Competition, a prize that helped launch the careers of groups including the Pacifica, Brentano and Emerson string quartets and the Eroica Trio. The prize carries with it a performance at Carnegie Hall/Weill Recital Hall and a commissioned work by esteemed American composer Robert Sirota.

The quartet also won the prestigious Grand Prize in the 2014 Fischoff Chamber Music Competition after playing together for less than a year. They were the only American quartet of the fifteen from around the world invited to showcase at the 2016 Paris Biennale de quatuors à cordes (Biennial String Quartet Festival and Symposium).

The Telegraph Quartet was formed in 2013 with a passionate commitment to the standard repertoire as well as contemporary and new music. Recent appearances include a New York début in Carnegie Hall/Weill Recital Hall, a European début in the Emilia Romagna Music Festival (Italy), Kneisel Hall Chamber Music Festival, Chautauqua Music Festival, Capistrano Chamber Music Festival, Chicago Chamber Music Society, Chamber Music Yellow Springs, and Great Lakes Music Festival. They have given three concerts on the San Francisco Conservatory’s Chamber Music Masters Series, and a tour of the Midwest sponsored by the Fischoff Foundation. They have participated Robert Mann’s Quartet Seminar at the Manhattan School of Music and the St. Lawrence Quartet's workshop at Stanford University. Their début CD of Webern, Britten and Kirchner will be released in 2017.

The quartet collaborates with pianist Simone Dinnerstein, cellist Norman Fischer, violist James Dunham (formerly of the Cleveland Quartet) and the Henschel Quartett from Germany.

Beyond the concert stage, the Telegraph Quartet seeks to spread its music through education and audience engagement. They have given master classes at the San Francisco Conservatory of Music and the Chicago Youth Symphony Orchestra. The quartet members hold teaching positions at various music institutions including San Francisco Conservatory of Music’s Chamber Music Program and Young Chamber Musicians in San Francisco’s South Bay.

The Telegraph Quartet is based in the San Francisco Bay Area.